Environmental Design & Protection Committee

Regular Meetings

  • 5:45 p.m.
  • The 2nd Tuesday of the month
  • Council Chambers

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Council Liaison: Michelle Wu
Member Term Expires Member Term Expires
Peter Brown (Chair) Jul 2021 Buvana Dayanandan Mar 2022
Wai Lee Wong Aug 2020 Carol Gottlieb Jul 2020
Vijay Chawla Jul 2022 Hajime Murakami Mar 2023
Nancy Couperus Jul 2021        

Associate Members

  • Neela Shukla
  • Kjell Karlsoon 

Committee Overview

The membership of this Committee shall consist of a minimum of 5 members and a maximum of 8 members, including whenever feasible, professionals in the fields of landscape design and construction, environmental science, and pollution control. The Environmental and Design Protection Committee currently has 8 members. Five members are required for a quorum.
(updated: 3/22//2018)


The charges to and duties of this committee shall be to:

    a. to work for the beautification of the Town and the protection of its

    b. to assist staff in implementation of the Town landscape policy
    through recommendations at subdivision, site development, Planning Commission and City Council meetings, and through review and inspection of required plantings;

    c. to study and make recommendations relating to landscaping and
    protection of public property, such as park lands, and treatment of riparian habitat and open space within the Town;

    d. to identify nuisance problems and sources of pollution and
     recommend actions for abatement; and

    e. to prepare educational materials for residents outlining Town
    ordinances and enforcement with regard to landscape design and protection of the environment.

    When requested to make recommendations to staff on proposed new development including new homes, remodels, secondary dwellings, and auxiliary structures as to impact on site specific and the surrounding neighboring sites reviewed by the Site Development Plans and Field visits. Such impacts would include topography, vegetation, drainage, lighting, skylights, riparian habitat and conservation easements.

    To attend all Fast Track/Site Development meetings to support committee and staff recommendations.

Helpful Documents